Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“I think peace is for them just like it is being said, a moment between two wars… this cold war between men and women will never stop! Not for women like us!” She looked at me with her big, brown eyes and as if she would have wanted to avoid being woman enough to show her feelings, she has bitten her lips and she started to look out the window, lost in her thoughts and so obvious pain…

It was a sunny, warm day and we were driving to nowhere… it was our day… the day when we were used to meet, just the two of us, to tell silly stories about guys, and to make fun about her hair, the tummy she might get by eating too much white bread that she loves to eat or God knows what imperfection she might have found just to make fun of herself.

That day I knew it’s not that kind of day… she was silent and very serious… she is never serious… she is always smiling, no matter how hard life can be for her, she finds somehow the power to do it. But that day, I could have felt her blocking all those tears to come out with such a force and stubbornness that I was almost afraid that if she had let them go, the car would have just been flushed from the road… silence and just a long, one way road in front of us… no trees, no traffic, no other human beings, just us and the clear blue sky… I don’t know why, but I remember I said to myself that if nature had empathized that day with her soul, it would have been a rainy day…

She drove like this for couple of hours… at some point she suddenly stopped the car… I looked around… green grass on both sides, but the same nowhere and nothing on the road… just a deafening silence, the clear, blue sky and the almost red sun, somewhere in the right side of us, almost melting with the blur horizon… I saw her then letting go to the wheel of the car and easily covering her eyes with both hands… at the beginning I had the impression that she sighs, but she was crying… it was more like her eyes were whispering her tears instead of crying…

It took few precious moments until she really started to take her pain out… one by one, I could have seen her tears falling down on her hidden face, her chest and shoulders trembling in thousands waves as if they were squeezing the body of all the pain, sadness, and the feelings of longing she gathered in the last months… she was crying as if somebody very dear to her would have just died… she was crying like an orphan child… I was silent, just looking at her small hands with a beautiful skin covering her fragile bones and blue veins that now were extremely easy to be seen…

Two minutes… but it felt like an eternity… I remember I didn’t do anything to comfort her, except letting her be… I was just watching her, saying to myself how much I love her, this little girl, with a heart of a lion, how amazed I was of her beauty from that moment…

She stopped out of the sudden… with the palm of her left hand she cleaned both cheeks of the last drops of tears, and like a hoyden she wiped her nose with the sleeve from the right hand. She looked at me with her big, brown eyes and she surprised me by giving me the most beautiful, childish smile she had ever given to me.

Image“A man might have the sword of his ego, sharper than any other sword, making a woman’s heart to bleed crystal tears each time he is doing something against his soul, each time he chooses to be silent when he should say what he feels, each time he says a beautiful lie when he should say the ugly truth, each time he stops when he should walk, each time he fakes a smiles when he should cry, each time he is mean when he should be kind, each time he is stubborn when he should be generous, each time he builds walls instead of windows with view to his soul…

But a woman has her love and her will… And in front of those, the only way for him to survive is to be man enough to love a woman. And not any woman. But the one who had the nerve and the power to get too close to his soul than it was allowed. If not, he will be doomed forever to float through this life like a ghost boat on a sea: lost and restless.”

She smiled again, she started the engine and she sang a love song with no lyrics… the storm was over!

